What is so difficult for these television network websites and streaming video sites to understand? Are we not knee deep in a virtual age? It makes absolutely no sense, what so ever, not to post updated shows/seasons on their websites!
If you play a show on television, then make it available online as well. Simple concept, yes? Good, we all agree that this is a simple process. So why isn’t it happening? I mean it doesn’t require some complicated mathematical equation, does it? I don’t work in that industry but it seems pretty cut and dry to me and millions of others.
So why are networks so slow with pushing their shows to the internet? Of course, how could I forget? Licenses! Really, do they really want to play that game with the fans?
I suppose I am venting my frustration merely because I can’t watch Merlin Season 2 online yet. Or at least that is what tipped the pot over. So if I can’t yell and scream at a physical person, I’ll blog about it.
I signed up for HULU thinking it would provide me with endless lunch hour entertainment. Most shows last 45 minutes so I have plenty of time to watch and the commercials aren’t irritating and are very short. Sounds like a match made in heaven. Well it was until they started posting partial seasons and not keeping up with their end of the bargain. My part was fulfilled; I logged on and watched every business day, which generated them revenue. They were supposed to provide me entertaining shows that I tirelessly searched for and added to my queue. All they had to do was keep them up to date.
So Season 2 of The Colony starts. I missed the first episode on tv. Sidenote: we switched from Comcast to Fios Tv, so the DVR wasn’t set up to record the show as it was on Comcast. Anyway, I go to Hulu the next day…. Nothing, I go to Discovery channel… Nothing. Hmmm. Frustration mounting, luckily it aired a few days later on television, so frustration level back to normal. I figure it is about a week delay. WRONG! Almost 2 weeks go by and nothing until it finally shows up. What the hell Hulu and Discovery! I can understand not posting it until it airs a second time because you want the ratings, understandable. But posting episodes 2 shows or more behind is absurd. Or even posting one season and then acting as if the second season never happened i.e. Merlin.
I am still awaiting SyFy (dumb ass name by the way), to get off their high horses and post Merlin Season 2 on the website or allow Hulu to play it. It is absolutely incomprehensible that they would ignore the fans and not stream these shows online. The season has been over for quite some time and they are ignoring us. POST the new season already!
Why is it so hard for the companies to give us what we ask for? We are the customers. We provide them the revenue to keep their companies afloat. All we want is to enjoy their shows. Throw in a couple ads, surveys etc but let us watch the show over the internet. Do you want us to go away and find a network that streams their shows in a consistent manner? It’s nothing personal, its business. Isn’t that what they would tell us if we could actually talk to someone at Hulu, NBC, CBS etc? Come on people are you with me on this? Aren’t you frustrated with the lack of updated content being streamed on the web?

